KY Board of Post-Secondary Education Approves Tuition, University Programs and Trust Fund Guidelines

The Council on Post-Secondary Education gave final approval to the campus proposals for tuition and compulsory fees at its meeting last week. Overall, the change in resident undergraduate tuition rates averages 1.5% system-wide, the third-lowest increase in recent history.

All proposals submitted were within the tuition fee caps set by the Council last year. This decision allowed universities to increase tuition fees by up to 3% over two years, but no more than 2% per year. Kentucky Community and Technical College System campuses were limited to a maximum increase of $5 per credit hour over two years and a maximum increase of $3 per credit hour in one year.

“College affordability is a priority for both CPE and our colleges and universities, said CPE President Aaron Thompson. “These historically low tuition increases are one of many strategies we are employing to ensure that cost is not a barrier to earning a degree or credential in Kentucky.”

For undergraduate resident students, rate changes include:

• Eastern Kentucky University—1%
• Kentucky State University—1.8%
• Morehead State University—1.1%
• Murray State University: 1.9%
• University of Kentucky—2%
• University of Louisville—1.2%
• Western Kentucky University — 1.1%

Fees for Northern Kentucky University and KCTCS were approved in April.

In other matters, the Council approved three new academic programs.

• University of Kentucky, Bachelor of Science in Leadership for Community Education and Human Learning: This 120 credit hour program is designed to prepare students to lead educational programs in community organizations. The program is aimed at students who desire a professional career in the education of children and/or adults outside the traditional school structure. It does not lead to teacher certification.

• University of Louisville, Master of Arts in Applied Philosophy: Students will complete this 33 credit hour program with three semesters of full-time coursework and a fourth semester of capstone independent study. The program trains students in ethical leadership focused on practical issues, health care ethics, and the non-academic labor market.

• University of Northern KentuckyMaster of Arts in Instructional Leadership: This 30 credit hour program will train teachers for administrative positions as elementary, middle, and secondary school principals as well as P-12 teaching supervisors and leads to principal certification in Kentucky.

For KCTCS, the Board heard that staff had approved six Associate of Applied Science degrees since January, in accordance with the program approval process. At Maysville Community and Technical College, they endorsed degrees in social services, aviation maintenance technology, health science technology, and education. At Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College, they approved a medical laboratory technician degree. At Hopkinsville Community and Technical College, they approved a Computerized Manufacturing and Machining degree.

Asset Preservation Pool Guidelines

In another action, the Board approved the guidelines for the 2022-24 Asset Preservation Pool that were enacted in the 2022-24 State Budget and delegated authority to staff to approve the investment projects financed by the pool.

This $683.5 million pool funds asset preservation, renovation and maintenance projects for education and general facilities at public post-secondary institutions in Kentucky.

The budget also authorized an additional $16.5 million for a stand-alone asset preservation project at KCTCS. In total, the General Assembly authorized $700 million for asset preservation to meet an anticipated collective need of $7.3 billion.

Campuses will be required to provide matching funds. Research institute projects will be matched at 30 cents for every state dollar, while the match for comprehensive universities and KCTCS will be 15 cents for every state dollar.

In addition to matching requirements, the guidelines include use of funds, reimbursement process, project identification, and certification of expenditures.

money for brains

Council approved guidelines for Bucks for Brains, an endowment matching program designed to bring new funds from external sources to public universities and support efforts to increase endowments for science, technology, engineering, math initiatives and health.

The General Assembly authorized $40 million in government bond funds for the program. Of the total amount, $30 million has been earmarked for the Research Challenge Trust Fund. As required by law, two-thirds, or $20 million, will go to the UK, and the remaining third, $10 million, will go to the UofL.

The remaining $10 million from the program was earmarked for the Comprehensive University Excellence Trust Fund. These funds will be distributed among comprehensive universities based on each institution’s share of the total general fund for the sector, excluding debt service and specialized non-teaching programs.

Universities are required to match state funds dollar for dollar.

Workforce Development Trust Fund

The Board approved the guidelines for the $2.25 million allocated to the Workforce Development Trust Fund by the General Assembly. The purpose of the fund is to increase the capacity to generate credentials in academic disciplines that address labor shortages in five sectors: healthcare, advanced manufacturing, transportation and logistics. , business services and information technology, as well as construction and trades.

In 2020-21, these industries had projected annual job application numbers that exceeded the number of KCTCS graduates.

As part of other financial measures, the Board approved two asset preservation projects for KCTCS: mechanical equipment and upgrades at Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College for a total of $2 million, and a replacement of the $1.5 million roof for the Glema Mahr Arts Center at Madisonville Community College.

Kentucky State University’s request for $5.5 million from its $23 million Special Appropriation for 2021-22 was also approved to fill the current year’s budget shortfall.

In other cases, Franklin County Executive Judge Huston Wells swore in three new council members: Jacob L. Brown of Louisville, Connie D. Smith of Bowling Green and Faith Kemper of Ft. Wright.

In addition, the Council:

• Approved staff recommendation to retain Regulation 13 KAR 2:045 in its current form. The regulations specify residency status for the purposes of admission and tuition assessment.

• Approved the Council Agency’s 2022-23 budget.

• Approved resolutions to thank outgoing Board members Carol Wright and Vidya Ravichandran for their service to the Board.

• Appointed Maira Gomez to the Equal Opportunity Commission.

• Received a report from Board Chair Aaron Thompson, which included updates on Kentucky State University’s management improvement plan.

Heard the reports of the Academic Strategic Initiatives Committee and the Equal Opportunity Committee as well as the annual Campus Diversity, Equity and Inclusion assessment report. Good news from the campuses was also presented.

Kentucky Council on Post-Secondary Education

Comments are closed.