WTAMU alumni, instructor honored at Panhandle Great 25 nurses recognition ceremony | KAMR



CANYON, Texas (KAMR / KCIT) – After the university recently opened its nursing education floor in Amarillo and recently celebrated its ranking as one of the top online nursing programs across the country, more of a dozen people related to West Texas A&M University’s Nursing Department at its College of Nursing and Health is expected to be honored later this week.

According to a press release from the university, a university nursing educator, along with 15 nursing alumni, will be honored at the fifth Panhandle Great 25 Nursing Recognition Ceremony at 6 p.m. Thursday ( November 4) at Polk Street United Methodist Church, located at 1401 S. Polk St.

Angela Phillips, Associate Professor of Nursing, Director of the Family Nurse Practitioner Program and Coordinator of Graduate Nursing at West Texas A&M University, will be one of the honorees at the ceremony. Additionally, Sharol Finley, who earned both her BSc in Nursing and MSc Nursing from college, was named to the Texas Nurses Association District Two Hall of Fame, and Valerie Kiper, who graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Masters of Nursing degree from university, will receive the Legacy Award.

According to the statement, the list was chosen by a committee in conjunction with the Texas Nurses Association District Two and the Panhandle Organization of Nurse Executives. Organizations recognize leadership qualities, community service, compassionate care, and significant contributions to the nursing profession.

“It is an honor to be mentioned alongside my nursing peers, especially as WT has helped produce so many nurses who have dedicated their lives to serving the Panhandle,” said Phillips in the press release. “It’s especially important this year after we’ve all seen how vital good nurses are. “

Other West Texas A&M University alumni honored at Thursday’s ceremony include:

  • Sharon Brewer, assistant professor and retention consultant at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center;
  • Brenda Chandler, pediatric oncology nurse at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center;
  • Ronda Crow, chief nurse of the Moore County Hospital District in Dumas;
  • Kristin De Los Santos, Clinical Documentation Specialist for the Deaf Smith County Hospital District in Hereford;
  • Elizabeth Favela, the Family Partnership Nurse Supervisor for the Coalition of Health Services;
  • Brenda Graham, a recall nurse for the BSA Harrington Breast Center;
  • Cami Meason, a nurse manager for the BSA Women’s Health Center;
  • Jennifer Peters, Nursery Program Coordinator and Educator for BSA;
  • Mandy Richardson, an ICU shift supervisor for BSA;
  • Sandy Richardson, a neonatal intensive care shift supervisor for BSA;
  • John Schnatz, a surgical nurse practitioner for Panhandle Surgical Group;
  • Shelly Seth, family nurse practitioner assistant professor at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center;
  • Sally Swan, school nurse for the Spearman Independent School District.

During the ceremony, 11 students, including four current students in the nursing program at West Texas A&M University, will receive a scholarship of $ 2,000.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.